top of page

My Top 10 Take-A-Ways from Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist


I recently read the book Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist. Niequist shares her heart and wisdom with readers as she's discovered the importance of slowing down and enjoying life in the present. Below are my Top 10 Take-a-ways:

Being real is being BRAVE.

The last four years has been a journey. The biggest lesson I learned was the importance of being vulnerable and acknowledging I’m human and have flaws. Looking at my weaknesses and knowing the need to acknowledge them, but press on is the definition of courage and bravery.

“Now I know the best thing I can offer to this world is not my force or energy, but a well-tended spirit, a wise and brave soul” (28).

YOU have a CHOICE.

You have a choice on how your live. Sometimes it’s hard to pull yourself from the darkness, but finding the light and choosing to live life with a grateful heart is a choice.

“What are you going to do” (47).

Know YOUR Purpose or purposes.

Minding meaning and purpose has been a struggle for most of my adult life. Learning to focus on your skills and talents and using them to help others has allowed me to be the most content I’ve ever been in my life. I became content when I stopped searching for it.

“I’m committed to a particular, limited amount of things in this season...That’s why knowing your purpose and priorities for a given season is so valuable--because those commitments become the litmus test for all the decisions your face” (55).

BRAVE doesn’t always mean BIG.

I didn’t always focus on the “little” things/gestures. I always lived with the mentality of “Go Big or Go Home.” I now understand that being brave and making impact in others lives is all about the “little” things not the grand things.

“Brave doesn’t always involve grand gestures” (125).

Understand “Present” Living.

Being mindful and living in the moment weren’t an option for me for a long time because I was “burning the candle” at both ends. Slowing down and enjoying the fresh air, nature and focusing on the environments and the people around me has made me a better person.

“Present is choosing to believe that your own life is worth investing deeply in, instead of waiting for some rare miracle or fairy tale” (130).

Don’t Sacrifice yourself.

When I was teaching high school full-time, teaching college part-time, writing for Scholastic Inc., being a husband and father, and balancing church and other things, I couldn’t catch a moment for myself. I neglected exercise and self-care. I slowly began to trim away the excess and question my motives of each. Emptying my plate has been a challenge, but a task worth completing.

“You must ask not only what fruit they (tasks/skills) bring to the world, but what fruit they yield on the inside of your life and your heart” (157).

Don’t allow others to determine your choices.

I was in a situation one time where my boss determined my choices. He became upset when my schedule didn’t allow or I tried to clear my plate of some tasks I felt unnecessary. People often “guilt-trip” others into participating or

“When you allow other people to determine your best choices; when you allow yourself to be carried along by what other people think your life should be, could be, must be; when you hand them the pen and tell them to write your story, you don’t get the pen back” (160).

Find what your heart loves.

At Stanford University’s Commencement in 2005, Steve Jobs talked about the importance of loving what you do. Finding what your heart loves will not only bring you joy, but will bring joy to others.

“Hustle is the opposite of heart” (174).

Be fun and whimsical.

For the longest time, I got angry with people not taking their life or their job seriously. I lost the ability to laugh and often became upset when people laughed over things that weren’t funny. After several years, I can smile, laugh, and feel like a child again. Being random, fun and whimsical creates memories and changes a negative atmosphere to a positive one.

“I used to be warm and whimsical. I used to believe in the power of silliness and memory-making and laughter.”

Say YES!

I love saying YES! Leaving the past behind to create a wonderful future is exciting. Jumping in without seeing the complete path is exhilarating.

“Saying yes means not hiding. It means being seen in all your imperfections and insecurities. Saying yes is doing scary things without the guarantee that they’ll go perfectly. Saying yes is telling the truth even when it’s weird or sad or impossibly messy. Saying yes is inviting chaos, and also possibility. Saying yes is building a new future, regardless of the past. Saying yes is jumping in anyway” (207).

Recent Posts
Subscribe to Monthly Newsletter
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page