top of page

An Evening with Liz Gilbert: Top Ten Takeaways

I was fortunate to hear Liz Gilbert, the author of Big Magic, Eat Pray Love, and The Signature of All Things, speak at McKendree College on April 12. My pen was moving fast and I’ve taken a little time to go back through and decipher my chicken scratches.

Before getting to my takeaways, I must say Gilbert seemed real, authentic and “down to earth”. I was engaged from the first words she spoke to when she finished her presentation.

Her spirit was contagious, positive energy filled the room, and now I'm ready to finish some things I've started and put on the shelf for awhile. Thanks Liz Gilbert for the inspirational words and motivation to revisit some of the ideas still waiting for me to act.

Top Ten Takeaways from Elizabeth Gilbert

#1 The greatest obstacle that keeps us from being creative and bold is FEAR.

#2 Ideas come from outside of you. Inspiration and ideas come through feelings.

#3 The single most creative act is to change/transform an obstacle into something new.

#4 Attempt to have as many “life meeting life” experiences you can.

#5 Become a scientist of your own experience. Be curious over being fearful.

#6 Reality is often more kind than the stories we tell ourselves.

#7 Ideas wait for us to see if we’re “for real”.

#8 When acting on an idea, don’t quit when you lose excitement. Push through. Stay in it for the reward when the joy returns.

#9 I don’t want to live this life without being here.

#10 Instead of asking people who they are and what they do...ask them “What are you most excited about in your life right now?”

Recent Posts
Subscribe to Monthly Newsletter
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page